My heart beats green

Ever since I was a small child, sustainability messages resonated with me. I remember trying to put a “turn it off” sticker on every single light switch in the house, and telling my parents not to run the water while they brushed their teeth. I watched a show called “Captain Planet” because the key messages were related to reducing waste and pollution. I was concerned about the hole in the ozone layer! I was a child “environmentalist”. As I grew up, I relaxed a bit, but still tried to make conscious choices. Fast-forward many years while working at Whistler Blackcomb, I reconnected with my inner child. I saw that the company had a Sustainability Coordinator and wanted to learn more about her job. We met for a coffee and discussed all the amazing opportunities in the world of Energy Management! This hit a chord with me and I decided to pursue a career in the field. I absolutely love being able to implement energy efficiency projects and measure their savings. This job makes me feel like I’m doing my part to make the world a bit better through conservation.

 

In my personal life, I’ve been on a parallel journey to reduce my family’s exposure to toxins. This includes diet, products, and air quality. I started a blog and created a social media profile to help share what I learned along this journey. But, WHY am I doing this?

During my early adult years, my grandma was diagnosed with breast cancer for the second time in her life! She kicked it the first time before I was born, and this courageous woman stood strong, fought, and won again. Her battle with breast cancer, and the fact that my mom bought me a natural deodorant, started to wake me up to the toxic

IMG_1749

My Grandma Ann. The woman who embodied strength and taught me how to overcome anything!

ingredients that I was using all the time. Over the next few years, I slowly started purchasing more natural skin and body care products, eliminating parabens and other ingredients that disrupt hormone functioning. Our skin is our largest organ, meaning that everything that goes on it is processed within our bodies. I also started to think about the impact of these ingredients on the environment. I switched to natural cleaning products because everything that we use ends up going down the drain. Everything ultimately gets into our water supply and affects our environment and every animal, plant and person living in it. When I found out I was pregnant, I took my natural quest to the next level, switching to unscented everything and eating (mostly) organic. As a mom, one of my goals is to raise healthy resilient kids. I try to focus on a healthy diet, exercise, and spending time outdoors as a means to do this.

 

That sort of leads me to today(ish). This past summer, I was introduced to doTERRA essential oils. I have learned so much and feel empowered to care for my family’s needs both physically and emotionally using these amazing tools from the earth! I

IMG_4172

These two are my everything and why I do what I do!

can reach for my Lavender for pain before I grab a Tylenol, or my Clarycalm when my hormones are raging! While I still use traditional medicine when necessary (we all go to the doctor regularly), it’s nice to know that I have other options available to me first. I love to incorporate essential oils in all aspects of my life including making my own homemade skincare, cleaning products, dinner recipes and more! AND because of their potency, a little goes a long way!

What I love the most about doTERRA is that it is a company that gives back. A large proportion of the essential oils are sourced from developing countries. They partner directly with farmers who have been cultivating and distilling these oils for lifetimes. They ensure each community’s needs are taken care of, whether it’s providing them with clean water infrastructure, access to doctors, or transportation to and from work. One of the pillars to doTERRA’s vision is sustainable sourcing, in some cases using a portion of a production by-product before it gets used in another process, which aligns completely with my values. The philanthropic nature of the company on top of the amazing uses for each and every oil is why I share the information. Check out www.sourcetoyou.com
for more stories about sourcing and quality.

I never saw myself starting a network marketing business. The structure scared me and before doTERRA, I never found a company or product that I was passionate about. But these essential oils are AMAZING! They work and there are so many personal testimonies to prove it. I have an Aha! moment nearly every day with them. Because of this, I decided to start a business and let my friends and family know about what I’m doing. Now, I get to help people to find natural solutions for themselves and their families. I have learned so much in the past 6 months about all the amazing properties and uses for essential oils.

Starting a business means working on yourself and I have done a lot of that lately. Thankfully I work with an amazing team who are growing, leading, supporting and succeeding right along with me! Do you love essential oils or want to learn more about how to use them? Are you interested in joining our team? Send me a message! I’d love to help you get started on your journey to better health and wellness.

Leave a Reply

