Cold relief for little people

I love winter! I love snow, cozy sweaters, skiing, snowshoeing, just to name a few… What I don’t love about winter is cold and flu season. I hate it when my poor babies get sick. We always try our best to keep our immune systems healthy by eating well, getting enough sleep and exercise, but sometimes the bugs still get us.

This past week, a gross cold ran through our household. We even made a trip to the doctor just to make sure it wasn’t anything worse than a cold because it was pretty nasty. I wanted to share a few of the things that I do to help us:img_2549

  • Snot sucker – We use a Hydrasense one that I bought at Superstore. I have also heard amazing things about Nose Frieda’s. These are much better than the bulb syringes, you just have to suck gently to get the boogies out (don’t worry there’s a filter).
  • Hydrasense nasal mist – A saline solution gentle mist helps to loosen the boogies.
  • Easy Air essential oil blend – We use this a couple of ways, in the diffuser and in a roller bottle diluted with fractionated coconut oil and rubbed on the chest. It’s kind of like a natural Vick’s without petroleum or turpentine.
  • On Guard essential oil blend – We use this daily in our house to help boost our immune systems. This is a blend of Wild Orange, Clove, Cinnamon, Eucalyptus, and Rosemary which helps to supercharge our immune systems. Like Easy Air, we diffuse and apply it using roller bottles (diluted to suit each person), but my husband and I also take it internally when we feel something coming on. I recently got some On Guard soft gels which makes internal use extremely easy! On Guard is so popular that it comes in a whole line of products from cleaning solutions to throat lozenges.
  • Cuddles, lots and lots of cuddles.

Since I want my kids to get out, play with other kids, and learn, colds are inevitable. At least with these tools we can shorten the duration and make ourselves more comfortable.

If you have any questions about the essential oils I use and how to purchase them, please contact me directly or visit this page.

What do you do when your babies are sick?

Leave a Reply

