Divorcing your anti-perspirant, without the stink

A couple of years ago I made the switch and stopped using anti-perspirant and drugstore deodorant. Do you know what’s in that stuff!?! Aluminum which blocks our sweat glands to prevent sweat from getting to the surface (yikes!), and other hormone disruptors that are potentially carcinogens. No thank you! My grandma battled breast cancer twice which has made me aware of what I put on my skin, especially close to that area.

I decided to make the switch to a crystal deodorant rock. I’d read about these for years and was always afraid to try it. Since I’m fairly active, I really didn’t want to offend my friends by being stinky. While reading up on this I came across an article about detoxing your armpits. One of the suggestions really stuck, and here’s my tip to you:

  • 10 minutes before having a shower, put a tbsp of apple cider vinegar in a bowl with some water.
  • Use a washcloth to apply the mix to your armpits (this may sting a bit).
  • Shower as usual and you should be good to go.

You might need to do this a few times at the beginning, but then you just stop stinking. I swear! You can also add a drop of 100% pure essential oil on the rock before applying. Not only will this help you to smell fresh, many essential oils (like lavender, tea tree and lemongrass) have anti-bacterial properties too!

Leave a Reply

